New South Wales

The New South Wales branch of Soil Science Australia holds a regular program events and activities which include meetings in regional centres.

The annual lecture is named after Harald Jensen (1879 - 1966), a geologist and soil chemist. The lecture is a forum to discuss and reflect on contemporary and historical soil science issues.

The NSW branch provides support to students to attend the National Soils Conference, the World Congress of Soil Science and the National Soil Judging Competition.

Meet our committee

President: Dr Uta Stockmann
Phone: 02 8627 1147

A/g Vice President: Brendan Malone

Secretary: Brendan Malone

Treasurer:Jonathan Gray

Regional Representatives
Canberra - Richard Greene
Sydney - Patrick Fillippi
Central West - Jane Aiken
Illawarra - Roy Lawrie
New England - Lisa Lobry De Bruyn
Hunter/Central Coast - Simon Buchanan
Northern Rivers - Abigail Jenkins

Communications Dr Jane Aiken CPSS


State Soil

The New South Wales Branch of the Society selected the Red Chromosol as its State Soil.

Also known as red brown earths, red podzolic soils or red duplex soils, Red Chromosols feature a strong texture contrast between the A and B horizons. They are distinguished from other texture contrast soils by not being strongly acidic like Kurosols or sodic like Sodosols in their upper B horizons. In their natural condition, these soils have favourable physical and chemical properties, but many now have hardsetting surface layers with structural degradation and acidification problems caused by longterm cultivation. 

They occupy some 20% of the State and are used for grazing, cropping and vineyards. They have been described as 'the workhorse of agriculture' in New South Wales.



Include space for high level news and menu for additional content

News, events and annual lecture

Branch awards and sponsorship

Honour board